transmediale 2010

határidődeadline: 2009. július 31.

Call for Entries

// transmediale Award 2010 //
// Vilem Flusser Theory Award 2010 //
Deadline: 31 July 2009
Award Ceremony: 6 February 2010

Find the complete call, registration and online submission form information at:

As leading international festivals for art and digital culture as well as adventurous music and related visual arts, respectively, transmediale and CTM (club transmediale) are inviting submissions to the transmediale Award Competition 2010 and the Vilem Flusser Theory Award 2010. Invited are art works, projects and positions that respond to the challenges of our rapidly changing digital, technological and networked cultures. The transmediale Award seeks innovative, experimental and visionary works across a wide scope of form, process and practice that embrace, question and enrich our understanding and relationship to our immersed media and technologically driven society. Entries that exemplify new and critical forms of digital expression and interaction are encouraged, as are works from countries and regions in which digital art and culture are emergent. Submissions of art works for both festivals participate in the transmediale Award 2010 while theoretical abstracts, papers and research oriented positions are invited for the Vilem Flusser Theory Award, with prizes totaling 10.000 EURO.

transmediale presents and pursues the advancement of artistic positions reflecting on the socio-cultural, political and creative impact of new technologies, network practices and digital innovation. As a festival aiming to define the contours of contemporary digital culture, it seeks out artistic practices that not only respond to scientific or technical developments, but that shape the way in which we think about and experience the technologies which impact virtually all aspects of our daily lives. As such, transmediale understands media technologies as cultural and aesthetic techniques that need to be embraced in order to comprehend, critique, and shape global societies.

CTM (club transmediale) is dedicated to contemporary electronic, digital and experimental music and sound creation, as well as the diverse range of artistic activities and social practises that develop within and connect to those audio cultures. Thus, the festival reflects on the agency of contemporary sound creation within the cultural fabric of society and its technological and social transformations. It explores the intersections of contemporary music and audio art with other artistic forms and cultural fields. A special emphasis is put on the creative use of new technologies, the interplay of sound with other media formats, the situational potential of live performances, the formation of social networks, and the advancement of a positive form of globalization.

Previous transmediale Award winners have included renowned artists such as Herman Asselberghs, Shilpa Gupta, Harwood/Wright/Yokokoji, Zhou Hongxiang, Istvan Kantor, Thomas Koener, Julia Meltzer/David Thorne, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Netochka Nezvanova, schoenerwissen,, Adrian Ward, Herwig Weiser and 242.pilots. The Vilem Flusser Theory Award, in collaboration with the _Vilem_Flusser_Archive of the University of Arts (UdK) Berlin, has been awarded to Simon Yuill (2008), Denis Rojo aka jaromil and Brian Holmes (2009).

Jury of the transmediale Award 2010 are Michelle Kasprzak (Edinburgh), Jose Luis de Vincente (Barcelona), Li Zhenhua (Beijing/Zurich), Yves Bernard (Brussels), Doreen Mende (Berlin).

Vilem Flusser Theory Award 2010 advisory committee members include Marcel Marburger (_Vilem_Flusser_Archive, Berlin), Oliver Grau (Danube University Krems), TBA

transmediale Advisory Board are Alex Adriaansens (Rotterdam), Dr. Marie Cathleen Haff (Berlin), Prof. Saskia Sassen (New York), Yukiko Shikata (Tokyo).