Esterházy Art Award
Shortlist 2019
13. December 2019. - 26. January 2020.
Opening: 0. 0 at 00:00
When the Esterházy Art Award was introduced in 2009, it was open exclusively to painting, in the strict sense of the word, among the genres of fine arts accepted in the European discourse. In the meantime, painting in the wider sense of the word and related techniques are also accepted in addition to the original medium, and this year, for the first time, it is possible to apply for site-specific installation plans. The latest interpretations will be displayed at the exhibition Short List 2019 – Esterházy Art Award Hungary.

Artists nominated for the 2019 Award: Ádám Albert, Róbert Batykó, Sári Ember, István Felsmann, Márk Fridvalszki, Kitti Gosztola, Éva Andrea Gyori, Dániel Halász, HeyWeSeeAskShowandDie (Csaba Árpád Horváth and Eszter Sipos), Dorottya Kalocsai, Adrian Kiss, Gábor Kristóf, Áron Kútvölgyi-Szabó, Péter Mátyási, Judit Lilla Molnár, Zsolt Molnár, Barbara Nagy, Márton Nemes, Péter Puklus, Anikó Sütto, Ottó Szabó, Péter Szalay, Gergely Szinyova, Kata Tranker, Ádám Ulbert

Due to their geographical location and Central European history, the Esterházy Privatstiftung and the Esterházy Hungary Foundation form a cultural bridge between East and West, past and present. The Esterházy Art Award, which is aimed at empowering young talented Hungarian artists and supporting international dialogue, plays an important role in the cultural activities of these foundations.

The prize of € 5000 per person is awarded by an independent jury every two years, to at least two and a maximum of three Hungarian artists under 45 years. The jury members are Sandro Droschl, Julia Fabényi, István Ottrubay, Gábor Rieder, Zsuzsa Szegedy-Maszák, Vitus Weh and Luisa Ziaja.